Opinion paper

For my opinion paper, I’m going to write about the unemployment rate. Our country faces unemployment problems many times relating to individuals not wanting to work. This is my opinion, which I’ve had for some time now, say at least ten years, Obviously this is not the case with everyone that isn’t working. I don’t mean to imply that you or a family member that isn’t working has this problem, but I know it is a problem.

I’m a business owner and in one year, while trying to keep nine people on the payroll, we went through seventy-five employees. That’s a pretty big turnover.

If I’m able to find research that corroborates my opinion I will be surprised and happy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roz Weedman
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 20:38:19

    This is another good topic — and our class seems so far has had all good ones. Like all good topics, it’s one that has complexities. “Wanting to work” might be complicated by need, by preparedness, by expectations of what paid work is, or any number of things. But it’s a good topic based on your experience. I’ll be curious what you find.

    Reply

    • marsha4852
      Oct 14, 2011 @ 03:01:37

      I hadn’t thought about some of the things above that you relate to my idea. I think some of the reasons is that parents don’t always teach their kids a good work ethic, and that isn’t always because the kids are from a higher income family either. It may be more that both parents work, and haven’t taken the time to explain different aspects of working. It could also be related to a possibility of the parents complaining about their jobs, which cause the child (of any age) to quit if they don’t like the work expected of them.

      Much to think about.

      Reply

  2. Tracy M
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 13:10:44

    Marsha,
    It will be interesting to see what information you get on this topic. A few years ago, my daughter got her first job at Burger King. She was thrilled to death, but was made fun of by classmates for working at a burger joint. I never could figure out this mentality.
    Tracy Metcalf

    Reply

    • marsha4852
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 23:19:54

      I work at Meijers in Midland and one of our employees there is friends with one of the employees of our personal business. He told our employees kids that they should never work at Meijers (may get held if busy), and to this day none of those kids will work there even though they (Meijer) offer benefits, and vacation pay among other things.

      Other people refuse to work for fast foods, or gas stations. In my book if you need a job, take what’s available. Then once you’re working look for your perfect job.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

